AANEM News Express

AANEM News Express

New AANEM Achievement Awards - Now Accepting Nominations for 2019


The AANEM is proud to announce new achievement awards for our members! These new awards were developed by the Awards Committee to recognize significant contributions made by our members in the field of neuromuscular and electrodiagnostic medicine.

Along with our traditional awards, these new awards will be presented at the AANEM Annual Meeting.

In 2018, the AANEM Board of Directors approved the addition of the following new awards:
  • Innovation Award
  • Outstanding Educator Award
    • Ernest Johnson Outstanding Educator Award (PMR)
    • Jun Kimura Outstanding Educator Award (Neurology)
  • Scientific Impact Award
“The AANEM is brimming with talented members who are contributing to our organization and to science in many great ways. We wanted new awards to recognize these members for their contributions," said Timothy R. Dillingham, MD, MS, Chair, AANEM Awards Committee. "These new awards will provide well deserved early to mid-career recognition when it is most important for academic advancement. These new awards will expand our current portfolio of annual awards and better showcase the range of accomplishments achieved by our members.”

Descriptions of each of the new awards are provided below. Nominations for 2019 AANEM Achievement Awards will be accepted through September 4,  2018. If you know an individual deserving of an AANEM Achievement Award, submit a nomination today! 
**NEW** Innovation Award
Honors forward-thinking members for designing and developing products, services, or processes to enhance patient care and/or transform the quality of patient care delivery through technology and innovation (e.g. software connecting patients to caregivers; quality initiative that reduces complications or enhances optimal care; development of a new diagnostic tool, medication, testing device, etc.).
**NEW** Outstanding Educator Award 
Honors members for their significant contributions related to neuromuscular and electrodiagnostic medicine education. Contributions may include regularly serving as a faculty member at the AANEM Annual Meeting, providing education about NM and EDX medicine to professionals outside of AANEM, outstanding resident/fellow education programming, and/or developing innovative or unique instructional methods and/or materials. Up to two awards will be given annually, one for neurology and one for PMR. 
  • Neurology Award: Jun Kimura Outstanding Educator Award
  • PMR Award: Ernest Johnson Outstanding Educator Award
**NEW** Scientific Impact Award
Honors up to two mid-career members (ideally 10 years or less from residency/fellowship) annually for their published work. The recipient(s) must be a first author, second author, or last (senior) author on a published paper in a national or international peer-reviewed, indexed journal within the past 2 years (case studies, textbooks, and textbook editorship will not be considered). The paper must feature a topic or topics pertinent to AANEM. Its impact will play a significant role in determining the award winner as well as its importance and timeliness in relation to current research trends. Up to two awards will be given annually, one for a neurologist and one for a physiatrist member.  
Additional AANEM Achievement Awards
The AANEM also distributes the following achievement awards at the annual meeting each year:
  • Advocacy Award
  • Distinguished Physician Award
  • Distinguished Researcher Award
  • Distinguished Service Award
  • Honorary Membership Award
  • Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Public Recognition Award
For more information, view the Achievement Awards page on the AANEM website. 

View Related News Stories:


Recent AANEM News

AANEM 2020 Bylaws Revision Passes

Science News: Antibody and Macrophage-Mediated Segmental Demyelination in Chronic Inflammatory Demyelinating Polyneuropathy

AANEM Assists in Creation of New Codes to Account for Additional Services During Public Health Emergency

Dr. Alexander Chamessian Receives ANF Development Grant

Science News: Antidiabetics, Statins, and the Risk of Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis






Devon products